Yikes…Have I become my parents?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I’ve Become My Parents.”

Parents and children torn apart
Getting along…or not?

Why can’t we just get along with our parents? Maybe because we’re so much like them!

Over the years, I’ve noticed that many of those annoying things that I saw in my parents were things that I now do…to others…double yikes!

If there’s a way to pick only the good qualities of those who raised me to adulthood, that would be a different story. But, it now seems that it is many more of those questionable traits that I’ve adopted for my own.

The ten step programs might have some good suggestions, namely the first step…knowing you have a “problem” is key to changing it. Unlike drinking or smoking, changing a “negative” behavior is not something you can just quit doing like throwing away the pack of cigarettes or booze.

Does one enter into therapy to that annoying habit of over-sharing information in a seemingly friendly way? Perhaps…it seems that therapy is one of those avenues that are long and expensive, worthwhile though they may be, there is always another level of issue to uncover and deal with.

Or does one use some other self-help method to illicit change in oneself? Perhaps a self-administered electric shock every time I open my mouth when it’s not welcome? Hmmm, doubtful!

Perhaps it is so ingrained in who we are as adults to be the product of our parents, both the good, the bad, the happy, the sad, that make us…well, us? Unique individuals who have something to contribute, even if some of it happens to be annoying…at times.

At the end of the day, maybe it is the “looking in the mirror” that is seeing our parents in our own behavior that is uniquely human. We are who we have been raised to be, but we have an obligation…to ourselves…to change those things that we identify as “negative” by introspection and self-analysis. We have only our own best interests at heart…and…at the end of the day, isn’t that like being your own best parent?

I think so.

Leave a Reply

