The District – We Built This City

Daily Prompt: We Built This City

by Krista on March 9, 2014

What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle? How would you tackle it?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CIVILIZATION.

via Daily Prompt: We Built This City | The Daily Post.

DC Capitol at sunset
DC Capitol at sunset

Although DC is not my home town, nor do I live here…but I definitely spend a lot of time since I work here. “The District” as Washington, DC, calls itself, is a strange mixture between state and city…both and neither at the same time.

There’s a certain mentality that goes with it in this area, affectionately called Beltway Blindness. It refers to the myopic inability to see beyond the “beltway”…the Interstate that roughly loops  around the city, encircling the Capitol.

I know enough about this “town” to know that it’s not a small thing to fix…if I had to choose just one, I suppose it would be to make it a smaller government. But, like every other facet of government, big and small, that’s no easy thing either. There is a general confusion of what is DC…the District…and what is federal. The Capitol is IN DC, but they are separate and distinct entities that have their own ways of doing things.

Last year’s shut-down highlighted some of the most difficult parts of how the District is treated differently from any other “state”. It is not independent of the federal government and its finance and other parts of its governance are tied to decisions that are out of its hands.

That may be more than most of you wanted to know! Maybe I’ll expand upon the strangeness of the District still being part of Maryland…but I’ll save that for another time…

Author: deWriterMD

In the fall of 1999, I was ordained as a metaphysical minister in the Order of Melchizedek, ordained by Reverend Dan Chesbro and became a member of the Sanctuary of the Beloved (New York). I studied further under Reverend Brown at the United Metaphysical Churches of America in Roanoke, Virginia, which had its origins in the Spiritualist Movement. I am also a Master Teacher of Sekhem Seichim Reiki with over eleven years of experience practicing and teaching Reiki. I have also given messages and ‘sermons’ at Arlington Metaphysical Chapel (Virginia), where I led adult study classes on a variety of esoteric topics. My online group, One with Spirit Meta-Journal Forum, has been going strong since early 2002. I'm also known for my Psychic Portraits, art from beyond the physical.

4 thoughts on “The District – We Built This City”

Leave a Reply

