What is “4D”? And what about 5D?

Sacred Hexagram
Graphic representation of the 5th Dimension

“4D” is shorthand for the fourth dimension; “5D” is the fifth dimension; if you haven’t heard about this concept, I’ll do my best to begin an explanation. In my upcoming book, I talk about the 5D reality that we’re already moving into. Although most of us are firmly rooted in the “3D” (three dimensional) world of physicality and most everyone has had some sense of the 4D, maybe that would be as good a place to start.

The fourth dimension is basically the time/space continuum, but even that may be a little too nebulous. One might conceptualize it as that encompassing mind or thought; some conjecture that this is the human mind’s first glimpses of cosmic consciousness. As simply as possible, you might think of it as any prayer or intention that projects your consciousness higher.

The PBS series, NOVA, in an episode entitled, “Imagining Other Dimensions” [http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/physics/imagining-other-dimensions.html] first aired 10/28/2003, struggled to describe what it might be like for someone to imagine this concept. While a flat hologram, such as might be on your credit card, is the 2D projecting into 3D, making that next leap into the 4D is not as easy to illustrate. Theoretical physicists, such as Dejan Stojkovic of the University at Buffalo [http://www.buffalo.edu/news/12493], are already saying “a fourth dimension may have already opened at large, cosmological scales.” This is based on the expansion of the universe, though even these great thinkers don’t know why.

In their book, “Transcending the Speed of Light: Consciousness, Quantum Physics, and the Fifth Dimension”, PhDs Marc Seifer and Stanley Krippner begin by writing that a “study of the new scientific understanding of consciousness and the mind as a fifth dimension of reality.” Many writers, mystics and philosophers have been discussing the 5D for some time now, but the best explanation I have found came from the late Vera Dorothea Stanley Alder (29 October 1898 – 26 May 1984). A reviewer of her book, The Fifth Dimension [http://www.amazon.com/Fifth-Dimension-Vera-Stanley-Alder/dp/1578631653], which was published posthumously in 1997, wrote this:

She explains the First Dimension as a line, the Second Dimension as a square, polygon, etc, the Third Dimension as objects and materialism, the Fourth Dimension as radiations flowing in all directions and interacting objects and materialism, the Fourth Dimension as radiations flowing in all directions and interacting with one another. Also included in this dimension are the radiations of Wisdom and Love. Finally in the Fifth Dimension she explains to be the opposite of the Fourth Dimension, where instead of radiations flowing in every direction we have inter-penetration, where worlds can dwell one within the other.

I’ll be writing more about the 5D in future posts; stay tuned, and you’re welcome to ask questions!

Author: deWriterMD

In the fall of 1999, I was ordained as a metaphysical minister in the Order of Melchizedek, ordained by Reverend Dan Chesbro and became a member of the Sanctuary of the Beloved (New York). I studied further under Reverend Brown at the United Metaphysical Churches of America in Roanoke, Virginia, which had its origins in the Spiritualist Movement. I am also a Master Teacher of Sekhem Seichim Reiki with over eleven years of experience practicing and teaching Reiki. I have also given messages and ‘sermons’ at Arlington Metaphysical Chapel (Virginia), where I led adult study classes on a variety of esoteric topics. My online group, One with Spirit Meta-Journal Forum, has been going strong since early 2002. I'm also known for my Psychic Portraits, art from beyond the physical.

4 thoughts on “What is “4D”? And what about 5D?”

  1. Thank you very much for attaching some definition to the 5D reality that I have heard mentioned here and there in the metaphysical community. I have struggled to grasp what 5D means. From my point of view 3D is anything that appears as matter in space, this includes anything in our known universe (multiverse?). So, the expansion of our known universe occurs in three dimensional space. I completely accept Albert Einstein’s theory that time is the fourth dimension since it doesn’t have 3D form. I grasp the point that the mind is also without 3D form, so it could be seen as 5D. Consider that even a concept such as time comes from the mind, so it seems as if the mind is already responsible for the fourth dimension and beyond. One of my favorite teachers, Seth, taught me that we are multidimensional beings. I think this is why I have struggled to grasp thought systems that attempt to number dimensions in addition to space and time. Might the dream dimension be 6D? In my beliefs, the one consciousness present in All That Is creates and transcends all dimensions. Thank you for hearing my opinion. I don’t intend to sound contrary, so please accept my thoughts as just another point of view. I appreciate any beliefs that assist humanity as we awaken to our true nature. I am grateful for your leadership and your role as a change agent and teacher of a new way of living together on earth. Together we are planting the seeds of change. With love and respect, always!

      1. I am reminded that I need to do more reading! I want to expand my point of view so that I may understand so much more. Thank you for being patient with my lack of understanding around your message. 🙂

  2. Hi, The best book I have read on conceptualizing dimensions is Flatland. 70 pages. In the library. But it only goes up to 3.

Leave a Reply

